top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSudarshan Patil

Basketful of Moonlight std -10

Basketful of Moonlight

Warming Up- वार्मिंग अप

1. Did you like to hear bedtime stories when you were a child ?

Answer: Yes, I did. I like to hear bedtime stories.

2. Who usually told you the bedtime stories ?

--My grandmother told me the bedtime stories.

3. Why did you like them?

I liked them because they took me in an imaginary world. I liked grandmother’s style of telling stories. These stories also teach me morals.

4. Do you still like to hear those stories, again

Yes, I do. I still like to hear those stories again.

1. आपण लहान असताना झोपेच्या आधी कथा ऐकायला आवडत होत्या का?

होय . मला झोपेच्या वेळी कथा ऐकायला आवडतात.

२. झोपेच्या वेळेच्या कहाण्या तुम्हाला कोणी सांगितल्या?

माझ्या आजीने मला झोपेच्या वेळेच्या कथा सांगितल्या.

3. तुला कथा का आवडल्या?

- कारण त्यांनी मला काल्पनिक जगात नेले. मला आजीची कथा सांगण्याची शैली आवडली. या कथा मला नैतिकता देखील शिकवतात.

4 तुम्हाला अजूनही त्या कथा ऐकायला आवडतात काय?

मला अजूनही त्या कथा ऐकायला आवडतात.

Discuss in groups about the procedure of planting a tree. Write the steps in bullet points and present them before the class.

· Select the right place for plantation.

· Dig the hole.(pit)

· Fill the hole with water& fertile soil .

· Loosen/trim the roots and remove the nursery stake.

· Place the tree in the center of the hole.

· Fill the hole with same soil that came out of the hole.

· Add fertilizer

· Put up a tree guard and protect


Discuss in pairs and write what your father and mother do for your family.



1.3. Basketful of Moonlight

O moon,

give me moonlight,

basketful or two baskets full,

with seeds of moonlight.

From the city to my village,

on the sides of the path

I want to sow many, small,

small moons of light.

The whole village goes to the city daily to work.

It becomes dark on its way back as my village is quite far.

The route is tough and full of snakes and scorpions.

Neither bus nor cart plies.

When my father returns home.

I am asleep.

And he goes back early in the morning

while I am sleeping

O moon

give me a basketful of moonlight on loan.

I want to light the dark route so that my father returns early.

I too want to hear fairy tales and stories from him.

O moon, give me a basketful of moonlight.

I want to sow seeds of moon on the sides of the path

-Sunil Sharma (Translate from Dogri)

हे चंद्र,

मला चांदण्या दे,

बास्केट किंवा दोन टोपल्या भरल्या,

चांदण्यांच्या बियाण्यांसह.

शहरापासून माझ्या गावात

मार्गाच्या कडेला

मला बरेच पेर करायचे आहेत,

प्रकाश लहान, लहान चंद्र.

संपूर्ण गाव शहरात जाते

रोज काम करण्यासाठी.

परत येताना काळोख होतो

कारण माझे गाव खूप दूर आहे.

मार्ग खडतर आणि भरलेला आहे

साप आणि विंचू

ना बस आणि गाडी नाही.

जेव्हा माझे वडील घरी परततात.

मी झोपलो आहे.

आणि ते जातात सकाळी लवकर परत जातात

मी झोपत असताना

हे चंद्र

मला एक टोपली चांदण्या दे

कर्जावर.

मला गडद मार्ग उजळायचा आहे

जेणेकरून माझे वडील लवकर परत येतील.

मलाही परीकथा ऐकायच्या आहेत

आणि त्याच्याकडून कथा.

हे चंद्र,

मला एक टोपली चांदण्या दे.

मला चंद्राची पेरणी करायची आहे

मार्गाच्या कडेला


Moonlight – light of the moon- चांदण्या - चंद्राचा प्रकाश

Whole – entire संपूर्ण

Scorpions – a kind of spider with poisonous sting in its tail विंचू - त्याच्या शेपटीत एक प्रकारचा विषारी डंक आहे


piles – goes to and fro पुढे मागे जाणे, ये आणि जा

to light – give light to a place प्रकाश - एखाद्या जागेवर प्रकाश फेकणे

सारांश- वडिलांसोबत वेळ घालवण्याची कवीची तीव्र इच्छा आहे. वडिलांच्या कामामुळे तो त्याच्याबरोबर वेळ घालवू शकला नाही. त्याला झोपेच्या वेळी परीकथा ऐकायच्या आहेत. त्याला चंद्राचा वर्षाव पहायचा आहे.

1) The title of the poem is “Basketful of Moonlight”.

2) The poet’s name is Sunil Sharma.

3) The rhyme scheme is: Free-verse.

4) Favourite Lines:

“I want to light the dark route

so that my father returns early.”

“I too want to hear fairy tales

and stories from him.”

5) Theme/Central Idea:

The central idea of the poem is a child’s desire to spend more time with his father. It is about a child’s imagination where he thinks he can help his father and other villagers return home early by lighting their path back from work with seeds of moonlight.

In this poem, a child admires the beauty of the moon and requests the moon to give him it’s moonlight. He want the moonlight as everyday the villagers including his father get late returning home due to the dark and dangerous path from the city to the village. By sowing the seeds of moonlight on the sides of the path, he feels his father will be able to return early before he goes to bed and spend more time with him.

6) Figures of Speech: Alliteration, Antithesis, Hyperbole and Repetition.

7) Special features: The poem uses the free-verse rhyme scheme perfectly. It clearly shows how a child’s imagination can be innovative and how their mind works to solve everyday problems. It also depicts the desire of a child to spend more time with his or her father.

8) I like this poem because I too would like to spend more time with my father as well as mother. I also liked the great imagination of the child to solve the problems of the villagers.

1. Complete the following sentences with the help of the poem : (Answers are given directly.)

1. The child wants to sow moons of light from the city to his village on the sides of the path.

2. According to the child, the route of his village is tough and full of snakes and scorpions.

3. The child wants a basketful of moonlight on loan.

4. The child wants to light the dark route so that his father returns early.

2. Write down from the extract the describing words used for the following nouns :

(Answers are given directly.)

Ans. 1. Small moon 2. tough route

3. my/whole village 4. two baskets

3. Pick out the examples of alliteration and repetition :

1. Alliteration : O moon, give me moonlight, basketful or two baskets full’,

2. Repetition : ‘I want to sow many, small small moons of light,’

4. Write as many words as you can using-ful as suffix.

Ans. Basketful – bucketful – handful – spoonful – colourful – sackful – bagful – potful

5. Pick out and write the lines from the poem that prove the following :

a. Father reaches home late, after dark.

Ans. When my father returns home, I am asleep.

b. The path from city to village is having many difficulties.

Ans. The route is tough and full of snakes and scorpions.

6. Write from the stanzas the describing words used for the following nouns :

1. dark route 2. fairy tales

3. early morning 4. basketful moonlight

7. Pick out the examples of alliteration and repetition :

Ans.

1. Alliteration :

(i) O moon, give me a basketful of moonlight on loan.

(ii) I want to sow seeds of moon on the sides of the path.

2. Repetition : No repetition in these stanzas.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subtraction worksheets and more...

Dear students enjoy activities based on subtraction . Home work ---A) 54778 - 17654 B) 81818-13141 C) 63637 - 8576 subtract vertically. solve and check the score

Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Margdarshan. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page